Reviews – Ugg ‘n’ Ogg and the World’s First Dogg

★★★★★ Outstanding “Theatre Fideri Fidera are not Fringe favourites for nothing. Every aspect of the production is marvellous. From the acting, which is pitched perfectly to the wide-eyed wee ones; to the puppets and puppetry, which are in turn beautifully constructed and wondrously brought to life; via the story itself which is full of heart and smiles.” Edinburgh 49 (13 Aug 2019) Full review

★★★★★ “The two actors who lead the show are family-friendly without ever pandering; their little tricks with props delight the whole audience. The set is extremely mobile and creates multiple changes of setting, little song interludes are peppered throughout … Theatre Fideri Fidera are a credit to children’s theatre as they keep a room full of children entertained for an hour.” New Perspective (9 Aug 2019) Full review

★★★★ “The two characters are very engaging. Good songs (and singing), wolf puppets, enthusiasm, lots of chances for children to come onto the stage and good use of lighting liven up the relatively simple set and keep the young audience interested throughout.” Edinburgh Festival for Kids (19 Aug 2019) Full review

“I’m always on the look out for children’s shows doing something truly different. Many productions for younger theatre-goers repeat similar stories and themes, even if they do it brilliantly. But as I heard about the play it stood out, because it’s about a subject I have literally never seen tackled by a theatre company before – and it looks brilliant.” Caro Moses, Three Weeks (19 Aug 2019)

“The show is described in the Fringe programme as for 5+, I noticed on the way in the show itself says suitable for 3+. I would definitely go with the show – there were two and three year olds in the audience absolutely entranced. The ideal age, I’d say, is 3-7 year olds, they hit that audience age bracket perfectly, with lots of expression in the acting, a few fart jokes, simple songs and some really sweet audience participation – including getting to stroke Tooth and Nail and their cubs at the end.” Primary Times (6 Aug 2019) Full review

“We were delighted to start off our festival adventures with another production from Theatre Fideri Fidera. Specialising in theatre for children, their show last year stood out as one that really introduced kids to what theatre can be. So I was hoping for something original that would take us to into a different world – and thankfully, I wasn’t disappointed.From the very start of the performance, the kids were captivated by the use lighting and movement to create suspense and – very quickly – laughter as Ogg and Ugg emerged. … this was good story-telling at it’s best. The scenery and costumes were all used effectively to set a scene and take all of the audience with them. It was a great way to start our Fringe and I hope it’ll be one on your list to see. Would recommend for 3-9 year olds – although there were babies in the audience who seemed very happy!” Laura Crichton, edinburghlifewithkids.com (1 Aug 2019) Full review

★★★★★ “(Jack) Faires and (Natasha) Granger work well together and the story flows well… and if you ever want to see a wolf beat box then this is the show for you. The sets are simple but effective and the costumes help set the scene as well. A must see for all the family.” Fairy Powered Productions (June 2019) Full review

Audience tweets

Audience reviews

“Took my 6 year old son and 3 year old daughter to see the show Ogg n ugg n dogg at the Edinburgh fringe and they absolutely loved it! They laughed so much and was a great story! A must see for kids at the fringe!” Danielle Bonner (15 Aug 2019) Recommendation on facebook.com

“Another great show from Theatre Fideri Fidera. We first saw them at the East Lothian Puppet Festival in April with a show called “Oskar” which was brilliant, so we were excited to see their new show Ogg ‘n’ Ugg ‘n’ Dogg. We weren’t disappointed, our four year old son was captivated throughout. A thoroughly charming story, beautifully brought to life, funny and interactive in places (although it would be nice to include more than the first row of kids to participate) and very suitable for younger kids (which we’ve sometimes struggled with this festival), although the older kids and adults seemed to be loving it too. So far it’s been the best thing we’ve seen at the fringe this year for 4 year olds. Looking forward to catching them again in April at the Puppet Festival.” Fiona Hedger-Gourlay (16 Aug 2019) Full review on edfringe.com

“Our 5 and 7 year old really enjoyed this show. It was lots of fun as well as being educational. The performers were great. Really entertaining for children and fun for adults too.” The Hills (4 Aug 2019) Full review on edfringe.com